Anmeldeformular Newslettertool


2022/11/16 - FIM Supersport World Championship 2022: Australian Round / Preview

To end record-breaking 2022 in style

Despite successfully defending his title early, Dominique Aegerter is expecting an emotional end to the season this weekend on picturesque Phillip Island in southern Australia.

After the last two races of the season on Saturday and Sunday, an incredibly successful period of Dominique Aegerter's career comes to an end. At the same time, he and his Dutch team Ten Kate Racing are part ways because it is known that the 32-year-old Swiss rider will move up to Superbike World Championship in 2023 with the Italian GRT Yamaha WorldSBK team.

Before that, the ambitious duo wants to finish the current championship on par with a major champion. Of 22 races so far, Aegerter has finished 18 on the podium, including the particularly impressive figure of 16 victories. On Saturday and Sunday, Aegerter will look to rewrite the statistics of this record-breaking season. Aegerter is only the third rider in history of the Supersport World Championship to have managed to win the title twice in a row.

Due to the ten-hour time difference to Australia, the Supersport races at Phillip Island will start at 04:30 CET on both Saturday and Sunday.  ServusTV will offer the tried-and-tested live stream of both races, while "Eurosport 2" will go live 15 minutes before the start in each case.

#77 Dominique AEGERTER (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha, Yamaha YZF R6)

"We come to Australia for the season’s finale from a very successful weekend in Lombok, where we won the title early with a fourth place last Saturday. To top it all off, there was another win to celebrate in the second race last Sunday. Our proud record this year is getting more incredible with every race weekend though, an emotional weekend awaits us at Phillip Island, even though we arrive as newly crowned world champions. After two super nice years with Ten Kate, it will be time to say goodbye on Sunday. But before that, I am looking forward to returning to Phillip Island after three years. I know the circuit from 2019 and the years before that, when I raced first in 125cc and then in the Moto2 World Championship. It is a fantastic track; I am really happy to be back here."

"Hopefully it is getting a bit warmer than when we arrived, and the weather will also remain reasonably stable. I have often experienced Phillip Island with wet, cold and changeable weather. Apart from that, I am looking forward to the weekend. It will be my first with the Supersport bike and the Pirelli tyres at this ultra fast track. Although we already have the title in our bag, my goal and preparation will be no different than usual. The focus on Friday will be on working a good race set-up and finishing Superpole on Saturday with a front row grid position. In the races we want to fight for the podium at least. I will give everything to finish this not only for me unforgettable Supersport season with Ten Kate and Yamaha in style."

#AUSWorldSBK: WorldSSP Zeitplan (MEZ):
Freitag, 18. November: 00:30 - 01:15 FP1
Freitag, 18. November: 05:00 - 05:45 FP2
Samstag, 19. November: 02:05 - 02:45 Superpole
Samstag, 19. November: 04:30 Rennen 1 (16 Runden - 71,120 km)
Samstag, 20. November: 00:55 - 01:10 Warm-Up
Sonntag, 20. November: 04:30 Rennen 2 (16 Runden - 71,120 km)

Streckendaten Phillip Island:
Länge: 4.445 Meter
Breite: 13 Meter
Längste Gerade: 900 Meter
Linkskurven: 7
Rechtskurven: 5
WorldSSP Alltime-Rekord: 1´32.176 (2020)
Beste WorldSSP Pole-Position: 1´32.176 (2020)
Schnellste WorldSSP Rennrunde: 1´33.072 (2018)
Dominique Aegerter’s Resultate 2020: - / Rennen 1: - / Rennen 2: - 

WorldSSP Stand:
1 #77 Dominique AEGERTER / SWI / Yamaha / 462

2 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI / ITA / Yamaha / 359
3 Can ÖNCÜ / TUR / Kawasaki / 248
4 Nicolo BULEGA / ITA / Ducati / 210
5 Stefano MANZI / ITA / Triumph / 207
6 Federico CARICASULO / ITA / Ducati / 191
7 Niki TUULI / FIN / MV Agusta / 152
8 Yari MONTELLA / ITA / Kawasaki / 136
9 Raffaele DE ROSA / ITA / Ducati / 127
10 Jules CLUZEL / FRA / Yamaha / 127
11 Glenn VAN STRAALEN / NED / Yamaha / 111
12 Adrian HUERTAS / SPA / Kawasaki / 110
13 Hannes SOOMER / EST / Triumph / 94
14 Bahattin SOFUOGLU / TUR / MV Agusta / 72
15 Andy VERDOIA / FRA / Yamaha / 59