Anmeldeformular Newslettertool


2022/11/10 - FIM Supersport World Championship 2022: Indonesian Round / Preview

First match ball in Indonesia

This weekend at the second last stop of this year’s Supersport World Championship, Dominique Aegerter has the first chance to secure the championship crown early.  

The race weekend on Lombok, a neighbouring island to the better-known vacation region of Bali in Indonesia, kicks off the two-part season finale of this year's WorldSBK series. The final race will then take place one week later at Phillip Island in southern Australia. The Mandalika circuit was only completed a year ago and opened then with the WSBK season finale.

After an incredibly successful season so far, Dominique Aegerter and his Dutch racing team Ten Kate Racing Yamaha have arrived at the south-eastern Asian island country of Indonesia with a 72-point lead over Italian rival Lorenzo Baldassarri. The 32-year-old from Berne is leaving nothing to chance, having already been on site for a week to adapt as well as possible to the subtropical climatic conditions.

Should Aegerter manage to score three more points than Baldassarri in the first race of the weekend on Saturday, he would be crowned 2022 Supersport World Champion ahead of schedule and the mission to defend the title would be successfully completed.

The last race weekends of the year are a real challenge for fans in Central Europe in terms of getting up early because Supersport races at Lombok start at 05:00 CET on Saturday and Sunday each.  ServusTV offers the tried-and-tested live stream of the races, while "Eurosport 2" goes live ten minutes before the start in each case.

#77 Dominique AEGERTER (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha, Yamaha YZF R6)

"I am very relaxed and look forward to the weekend with confidence. I am also looking forward to race in Indonesia, where the enthusiasm for motorcycle racing is incredibly high. Nowhere are more scooters on the roads than here. I also have been able to adjust well to the conditions since I have been in the area for a while. The biggest change is the temperatures though, some training and lots of fun in surfing on the days off were a great help to adapt to this climatic. Beyond that, my stay here last week was a good distraction. But now I am fully focused on the race weekend."

"I think we have done a great job so far this season. 15 wins and a total of 17 podiums, including seven pole positions, is a record to be a bit proud of. It iss been an incredible season, and we are going into this weekend with a 72-point lead. But our mindset remains the same as it has been for the last few races. On Friday we have to prepare as well as we can for the weekend, make the right tyre choice, find a suitable gear ratio and work out a set-up for the race distance. Then it is straight into qualifying, where we want to fight for a grid position on the front row or at least the second row, before the full focus is on the two races."

"For me, winning the title is the top priority. But there are still four races to go, and although we have a nice cushion in the points table, there are still theoretical chances for Baldassarri. Still, I will go for the win in the races when I see it is possible. But first and foremost, we want to finish on the podium and for that we will give everything this weekend as well."

WorldSSP Lombok - Zeitplan (MEZ):
Freitag, 11. November: 02:00 - 02:45 FP1
Freitag, 11. November: 05:00 - 05:45 FP2
Samstag, 12. November: 02:55 - 03:15 Superpole
Samstag, 12. November: 05:30 Rennen 1 (19 Runden - 81,890 km)
Sonntag, 13. November: 01:55 - 02:15 Warm-Up
Sonntag, 13. November: 05:00 Rennen 2 (19 Runden - 81,890 km)

Streckendaten Lombok:
Länge: 4.310 Meter
Breite: 15 Meter
Längste Gerade: 723 Meter
Rechtskurven: 11
Linkskurven: 6 
WSSP Allzeit-Rekord: 1´36.173 (2021)
WSSP Pole-Position-Rekord: 1´36.288 (2021)
WSSP Schnellste Rennrunde: 1´36.820 (2021)
Dominique Aegerter’s Resultate 2021: Pole-Position / Rennen 1: Zweiter / Rennen 2: Dritter 

WorldSSP Stand:
1 #77 Dominique AEGERTER / SWI / Yamaha / 424

2 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI / ITA / Yamaha / 352
3 Can ÖNCÜ / TUR / Kawasaki / 216
4 Nicolo BULEGA / ITA / Ducati / 190
5 Stefano MANZI / ITA / Triumph / 178
6 Federico CARICASULO / ITA / Ducati / 162
7 Niki TUULI / FIN / MV Agusta / 127
8 Yari MONTELLA / ITA / Kawasaki / 114
9 Jules CLUZEL / FRA / Yamaha / 113
10 Glenn VAN STRAALEN / NED / Yamaha / 111
11 Raffaele DE ROSA / ITA / Ducati / 107
12 Adrian HUERTAS / SPA / Kawasaki / 100
13 Hannes SOOMER / EST / Triumph / 86
14 Bahattin SOFUOGLU / TUR / MV Agusta / 72
15 Andy VERDOIA / FRA / Yamaha / 52