Anmeldeformular Newslettertool


2022/10/20 - FIM Supersport World Championship 2022: Argentinean Round / Preview

Unbelievably beautiful memories of San Juan

With this weekend’s WorldSSP visit to Argentina, Dominique Aegerter returns to the place of his greatest triumph to date.  

Circuito San Juan Villicum is located in the northwest of the South American country with the impressive scenery of the Andes Mountains in the background. San Juan is one of the oldest cities in Argentina and it’s located in an oasis in a steppe-like dry area. It is the capital of the province of the same name, which borders in the south to Mendoza, known for its famous red wines.

Dominique Aegerter really likes the relatively new San Juan circuit, which only entered the series’ calendar in 2018. But the 32-year-old Swiss rider not only likes the track, but also the country and its people. His title win a year ago, however, when Aegerter decided the championship early for himself and his Dutch Ten Kate Racing team in the second race of the weekend, puts everything in the shade.

Ahead of the third-last stop in this year’s championship, Aegerter has a 45-point lead over his only title rival Italian rider Lorenzo Baldassarri, with a maximum of 150 points still up for grabs in the 2022 campaign. So, there will be no repeat of last year's indescribable scenes this weekend. Nevertheless, the ambitious athlete from the canton of Bern will go into rounds 19 and 20 of the season with the same determination and irrepressible will to win with which he impressed in all races, not only most recently in Portimao.

The weekend's schedule couldn't be better for fans in Europe due to the five-hour time difference, with all sessions taking place in the afternoon or at prime time (CET). As every time, ServusTV offers a live stream of the races, while "Eurosport 2" goes live ten minutes before the start of each race.

#77 Dominique AEGERTER (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha, Yamaha YZF R6)

"In San Juan last year I did not have my best races, however. From fifth on the grid, I finished P5 once and in third on the podium in the second race. But, still, I have incredibly good memories of this track because of the winning the 2021 championship. This time we are coming to Argentina with a much stronger package, and I always like this track with its good mix of slow and fast corners. Hopefully we will be spared of a sandstorm this time."

"The journey to San Juan was uncomplicated but long. I was already able to get used to the time difference and the weather. For the fans in Europe, the weekend's schedule with all the sessions in the afternoon is certainly accommodating. They will not miss anything, practically. Hopefully, a lot of people will also follow us in front of the TV screens and cheer us on. After our strong weekend in Portimao, I was looking forward to seeing my Ten Kate team again and as far as the weather is concerned, it should not have any big surprises for us."

"Still, the laws are always a little bit different at overseas races. But we will not do anything different here either. From Friday to Sunday, we will be focused and working hard to achieve our goal and extend our lead in the points table a little bit again. Hopefully we will have a good weekend and can count on the support of the many Argentine fans who are cheering loudly not only for me but for the whole Ten Kate Racing family."

#ARGWorldSBK - WorldSSP Zeitplan San Juan (MESZ):
Freitag, 21. Oktober: 14:30 - 15:15 FP1
Freitag, 21. Oktober: 19:00 - 19:45 FP2
Samstag, 22. Oktober: 16:25 - 16:45 Superpole
Samstag, 22. Oktober: 18:30 Rennen 1 (19 Runden - 81,244 km)
Sonntag, 23. Oktober: 15:25 - 15:40 Warm-Up
Sonntag, 23. Oktober: 18:30 Rennen 2 (19 Runden - 81,244 km)

Streckendaten San Juan:
Länge: 4.276 Meter
Breite: 15 Meter
Längste Gerade: 990 Meter
Rechtskurven: 7
Linkskurven: 10 
WSSP Allzeit-Rekord: 1´41.740 (2021)
WSSP Pole-Position-Rekord: 1´41.740 (2021)
WSSP Schnellste Rennrunde: 1´41.906 (2021) 

WorldSSP Stand:
1 #77 Dominique AEGERTER / SWI / Yamaha / 374

2 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI / ITA / Yamaha / 329
3 Can ÖNCÜ / TUR / Kawasaki / 194
4 Nicolo BULEGA / ITA / Ducati / 177
5 Stefano MANZI / ITA / Triumph / 158
6 Federico CARICASULO / ITA / Ducati / 126
7 Glenn VAN STRAALEN / NED / Yamaha / 106
8 Yari MONTELLA / ITA / Kawasaki / 106
9 Niki TUULI / FIN / MV Agusta / 103
10 Adrian HUERTAS / SPA / Kawasaki / 94
11 Jules CLUZEL / FRA / Yamaha / 93
12 Raffaele DE ROSA / ITA / Ducati / 87
13 Hannes SOOMER / EST / Triumph / 80
14 Bahattin SOFUOGLU / TUR / MC Agusta / 72
15 Oliver BAYLISS / AUS / Ducati / 48